Comparing roof tent specs without picking a winner.]*

The view out of an open roof tent across a meadow to a still lake
Photo: Jorgen Hendriksen on Unsplash

Compared on published specs, not tested. We haven't tested these products. Figures come from makers' and retailers' published specs, linked in the sources. How we compare.

On this page
  1. The short answer
  2. Weight: with or without the extras
  3. Closed and open size
  4. Usable mattress against external size
  5. Fabric and waterproof ratings
  6. Wind ratings and their conditions
  7. Load capacity, roof load and bar spread
  8. Lining up two makers' figures
  9. FAQs
  10. Next: check your car's roof load

The short answer

A published spec tells you what the maker chose to measure and how it measured it. Before you set two tents side by side, check what each weight includes, whether a size is open or closed, the real mattress size, what each mm rating covers, and how wind was measured. Write "Not stated" wherever a page is silent. This guide is not tested: it reads the figures makers publish.

Weight: with or without the extras

A weight only means something once you know what it includes. iKamper's Skycamp 4.0 Duo page gives 54 kg for the tent with its mounting brackets, and lists the ladder and mattress separately, so they appear to be left out of that figure. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo. Thule gives the Widesky's 67 kg as "without ladder" and gives no figure with it. Thule Widesky. TentBox gives 67 kg for the Classic 2.0 and does not say what that covers. TentBox Classic 2.0.

Dometic gives 49 kg for its Feather-Lite II "including ladder and cover", and does not say whether the mattress or brackets are in it. Dometic Feather-Lite II. So two tents can both list 67 kg and weigh different things. Ask what the weight covers before you compare it.

Closed and open size

Closed size is the box you carry. Open size is what the tent takes up when it is set up, and it may or may not include the ladder or an awning, which the maker should say. Write each size as length × width × height before you compare, because listings do not always use the same order.

Open height is not the same as usable height. Thule gives the Widesky an open height of 131 cm and a peak internal height of 117 cm, so the two figures measure different things. Thule Widesky. Dometic lists an open length of 320 cm against a closed length of 122 cm, and does not say what the open length includes. Dometic Feather-Lite II. For how the packed shapes differ between types, see roof tent dimensions explained and hardshell vs softshell.

Usable mattress against external size

External size is the box on your roof. Usable space is the sleeping area inside, and makers list it separately. Check the mattress figure, not the tent's outer size.

The numbers do not always line up. TentBox lists the Classic 2.0 mattress as 120 × 210 cm, so check which figure is the length before you measure your own space. TentBox Classic 2.0. Thule gives the Widesky a sleeping footprint of 200 × 130 cm and no mattress size. Thule Widesky. iKamper gives a sleeping area of 153 × 210 cm for the Duo, which is a different measure from a mattress, so its mattress size is Not stated. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo. Dometic's mattress is 200 × 120 cm, but its description gives the thickness as 6 cm in one place and 2.25 inches in another. Dometic Feather-Lite II.

Fabric and waterproof ratings

A fabric name does not tell you how waterproof a tent is. Thule describes the Widesky canopy as "100% recycled, breathable, water-resistant 600D polyester ripstop", with no mm figure. Thule Widesky. TentBox gives a 3000 mm rating for its fabric. TentBox Classic 2.0. Dometic gives 2000 mm for its full-coverage rainfly and calls it a water column. Dometic Feather-Lite II. iKamper says its rainfly is waterproof and gives no mm figure. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo.

These numbers can describe different parts of the tent: the canopy, the rainfly or the whole tent. Neither the TentBox nor the Dometic page names the test method, so this guide does not explain how the figure is measured. Ask the maker which part each figure covers and which test it uses. TentBox's FAQ calls a well-made roof tent "completely waterproof" but gives no rating for that claim. TentBox FAQs.

Wind ratings and their conditions

A wind figure only means something with its conditions. TentBox gives "Up to 50mph (Gale force 9)" for the Classic 2.0, but the page does not say how the figure was arrived at, whether the tent was on a car or on the ground, or how well it was set up. TentBox Classic 2.0. iKamper describes its Duo as checked against winds up to 30 mph from all directions, with no stability or structural problems reported, and gives no numeric rating. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo. Thule and Dometic give no wind figure for their tents. A 50 mph figure and a 30 mph description cannot be compared directly, because their conditions differ. TentBox's own FAQ tells readers to check the manufacturer's guidelines for wind ratings. TentBox FAQs.

Load capacity, roof load and bar spread

Several load figures sit side by side in these listings, and they measure different things:

  • Internal weight capacity. TentBox lists 300 kg for the Classic 2.0. TentBox Classic 2.0.
  • Static weight capacity. Thule lists 300 kg for the Widesky and gives no dynamic figure. Thule Widesky.
  • Load rating. Dometic lists 270 kg, with no conditions and no static or dynamic label. Ask which it is. Dometic Feather-Lite II.
  • Minimum dynamic load. iKamper's FAQ gives 64 kg (140 lb) as a minimum dynamic load for the Duo, and its product page gives no static figure. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo.

None of these is your car's roof load. TentBox's FAQ says the roof load limit listed by vehicle makers applies while the vehicle is driving, so that figure is likely a dynamic one. TentBox FAQs. Do not work out a static figure from a dynamic one, or any limit from another figure. Check your car's handbook and your bars, then use the roof load checker. For the wider fit question, see will a roof tent fit my car.

Bar spread is also a published figure. Thule gives the Widesky a minimum bar spread of 70 cm. Thule Widesky. iKamper's Duo page gives a crossbar distance range of 22 to 41 inches in its table, but its FAQ says the crossbars should be at least 30 inches (76 cm) apart. iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo. When a page disagrees with itself, check the fitting instructions for the tent you want.

Lining up two makers' figures

Take the two tents from the maker pages above, and read across each row. Sizes are length × width × height, as published on each maker's UK page, checked 21 Oct 2026.

SpecTentBox Classic 2.0Thule Widesky
Weight67 kg; what it includes: Not stated67 kg, without ladder
Closed size218 × 128 × 35 cm210 × 140 × 20 cm
Open size218 × 128 × 100 cm220 × 140 × 131 cm
Mattress120 × 210 cm, as listedNot stated (sleeping footprint 200 × 130 cm)
Sleeps22
Fabric3000 mm rating600D ripstop; mm rating Not stated
Wind figureUp to 50 mph; conditions Not statedNot stated
Load figureInternal weight capacity 300 kgStatic weight capacity 300 kg; dynamic Not stated
Minimum bar spreadNot stated70 cm
Warranty5 yearsNot stated

Where a cell says "Not stated", treat the figure as unknown, not as zero, and ask the maker or retailer before you compare. The questions in questions to ask before buying a roof tent can help you do that.

FAQs

Why doesn't this guide rank roof tents?

A ranking needs figures measured the same way and covering the same part of the tent. The pages above do not always give either, and some figures are Not stated altogether. The side-by-side figures show what each maker publishes, without a verdict.

Is 3000 mm better than 2000 mm?

Not from these pages alone. TentBox gives 3000 mm for its fabric, while Dometic gives 2000 mm for its rainfly, and neither page names the test method. Ask each maker which part its figure covers and how it was measured.

Does a tent's load figure tell me whether my car can carry it?

No. A tent's internal or static figure says nothing about your car or your bars. Check the vehicle limit in your handbook, which TentBox's FAQ says applies while driving, and use the roof load checker.

What if a maker doesn't state a figure I need?

Treat it as unknown and ask for it in writing before you compare. A missing figure is not a zero, and it is not a sign the figure is good or bad.

Next: check your car's roof load

Once you have a tent's published weight and your car's limit, work through the roof load checker.

Ready for the next step?

Use our free tools to check your roof-load figures, estimate your vehicle's overall height, build a trip kit list or compare hiring with buying.

More in Roof tents

Sources